A journey into Parenthood & dealing with loss

12 Week Appointment and Scan

Today was our 12 week appointment and detailed scan.

The BSquirt is measuring 54 mm, which is 12W3d, I’m 11w4d since LMP.

The estimated due date is around 24 May 2014.

The scan included multiple checks for ruling out Down’s Syndrome: The Nuchal Fold is measuring 1.3 mm. The want it to be under 3 mm and it’s usually more than 1 mm, so we are measuring perfectly. The nasal bone was visible. The heart and bladder were both apparent and what they expected them to look like.

My weight has dropped by 1.5 kgs since my first appointment, but Dr P said it’s probably because I’m eating healthier and drinking more water. I can expect the nausea (which is very limited for me) to start to disappear in the next 2 – 3 weeks. The tiredness takes a couple of weeks longer.

I have a posterior placenta – this means that I will be able to feel baby moving earlier rather than later.

Dr P said something really interesting that I didn’t know. The uterus grows at about a centimetre a week, so that’s how fast it will start to expand from behind my pubic bone. And yes the little bit of firmness is not in my head, it is in fact the beginnings of a baby bump ๐Ÿ™‚ By 16 weeks the uterus will be half way at my belly button, by 20 weeks half way between my belly button and my rob cage and by 32 weeks at my ribcage. Apparently this is a good time to be tall!

I was also sent for blood tests – these will be back in 5-7 days. Dr P will phone me with the results as I am over 35. He phones anyone with abnormal results and all his patients over 35. B and I have talked and we are unlikely to go ahead with an amnio even if it’s recommended, since we will not terminate if the Down’s results are positive. It’s been a lot of hard work getting here, we are going to do everything to keep this baby!

I see Dr P again on the 10th of Dec.

We have started telling close friends now. I went to tell the girls I used to work with and they were beyond thrilled!

For those that would like to see the scan pics they are loaded in the Pregnancy Gallery above.

In other news, our new organic vegetable garden was installed today and I am very excited about us having our own fruit, vegetables and herbs growing in our garden. The cats have already found the catnip plant!

The new vege Garden

Greebo found the Catnip

Greebo found the Catnip

 

Comments on: "12 Week Appointment and Scan" (6)

  1. All sounding great! Congratulations! I had my son Fjord at age 39 and my daughter Acacia at 42, there are legitimate concerns around pregnancy over 35 but they are maybe overstated. Between my youngest 2 I did have a miscarriage at 9 weeks and struggled a bit to conceive but being an “older” parent is just plain wonderful. Wishing you all the best for the rest of the journey.

  2. This is wonderful news. I wouldn’t do the testing either. I watched this webcast one time and the mom said, “My child does not have to pass a test to be part of the family.” I loved that. It is so true. So glad your appointment went well. So happy for you!

  3. Miss Fanny P said:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ i am 39 and a half and when i went for that scan you know all about, before he did the scan he went on and on about my age, how i should have that amnio later on in the pregnancy, how risky pregnancy later on is etc etc etc
    he went on and on and on
    and man!!! i looked HOT that day. As in, i looked better than most 25 years olds ๐Ÿ˜‰
    so he’d keep qualifying his comments with – even if you look amazing, your insides are still almost 40….even if you look wonderful and so good for your age, your hormones are those of a 40 year old woman ……..
    (ok i exagerate bbut you get me, right?)
    and then, the poor poor guy….
    I almost felt sorry for him, when after all that lecturing he then had to say
    “oops! errrrm….well….no heartbeat”

Leave a Reply

WAHM WorkSpace Blog

Where Moms Meet, Mingle and Market!

SA Cloth Directory

Cloth Addicts Unite!

Slowly treading water

My slighlty chaotic, anything-but-ordinary journey trying to be a wife, medical professional and still be me

Fragile Haven

A Fragile X carrier shares the ups and downs of TTC

Mothering three deaf daughters - my journey...

my experiences and daily life as a parent of deaf children

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Immotileturtle's Blog

Just another infertile rocking in a fertile world

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

desperateinthedesert

A journey from infertility to family and beyond

two solid lines

Life in search of two solid lines...Our journey to parenthood.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Decorex SA

Official blog of Decorex SA, South Africa's favourite home decor, design and lifestyle exhibition

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

Midlands Musings

The love, life and words of a Midlands girl who cannot be put in a nutshell.

basilBLOGinc

This is a writing page to complement my photograph page on www.basilARTinc.com

The crooked path through IVF

Will I be missing motherhood entirely? Itโ€™s the only question that seems to weigh on my mind these days.

clothpot

instant urban greening

tiredoftryingtoconcieve

22 and TTC - London Living <3

mission: mini vogt

Our journey to create {and keep} a healthy baby.

