A journey into Parenthood & dealing with loss

11 week Update

Yesterday was 11 weeks. According to my apps baby is the size of a fig or a lime.

limes  figs

How far along are you? 11 weeks and 1 day

What’s happening with the baby? Arms and legs are continue to grow and they can now bend. Baby starts to kick, but this is still undetectable by me. Baby is on the way to looking more like a baby now.

Total weight gain? I’m still weighing in about the same.

Maternity clothes? Nothing bought yet, and I don’t need to wear them yet.

Stretch marks? Nothing new in this department

Sleep? About the same as it’s been all along. I do find that if I wake up to pee after about 430am, I very seldom am able to go back to sleep. Although yesterday I did, and I had been feeling a little queasy when I got back into bed. I then dreamed about eating an apple, it was very odd.

Best moment this week? It’s actually been quite a stressful week. We had two sets of contractors at the house – the electricians sorting out the work they didn’t do when we were away, and the roof guys doing repairs that had been put off due to the rain. My best moment was having my house back to myself on Thursday evening. Also I’m starting to be able to feel something of a baby bump – it’s really just a firmness above my pubic bone, and I can only feel it if I’m standing up, but I’m pretty sure it’s related to the pregnancy.

Miss anything? Being able to wind down the evening with a glass of wine, especially after the week I’ve had. Other than that, nothing really

Movement? Not that I can feel.

Food cravings? Still mainly fruit, nothing weird.

Anything make you queasy or sick? I’m very luck in this department, I only seem to be queasy when I’m hungry.

Gender? I’m thinking it’s a boy, but it’s really just a hunch. We won’t find out until the birth. Although this week I dreamed about having an ultrasound that showed twins – a boy and a girl, who I kept referring to by the names of the twins I nannied for. The boy was developing as expected, but the girl wasn’t and the unspoken suggestion was that I would only take one to term – the boy. It was a weird dream.

Symptoms? Strange dreams, highly emotional this week! We had our year end function for the school that I volunteer at. I cried (like big heaving sobs) through one of the songs they sang, and all I kept thinking is my hormones can’t take this LOL.

Belly button in or out? Innie

Wedding/Engagement Rings on or off? Both on

Looking forward to? Definitely our 12 week scan on Tuesday – I’ll be 11 week 4 days. This will also be when they run the 1st trimester screening. Dr P has advised that he doesn’t recommend an amnio or CVS, unless the screening in this test shows a higher than normal risk. We will talk about that once the results are back. I’m also looking forward to telling some more people. I’m not looking forward to telling work, although I know they’ll be excited. I’ve only been there 4 months and I’m worried it’s going to be an issue.

Comments on: "11 week Update" (5)

  1. Congratulations! This is a great idea. I hope to implement something similar on my blog when the time is right. Documenting my entire baby journey as well on whitecrib.wordpress.com! Wish you all the best!

  2. Lovely post, so happy for you x

  3. I love this. It’s giving me hope.

Leave a Reply

SA Cloth Directory

Cloth Addicts Unite!

Slowly treading water

My slighlty chaotic, anything-but-ordinary journey trying to be a wife, medical professional and still be me

Fragile Haven

A Fragile X carrier shares the ups and downs of TTC

Mothering three deaf daughters - my journey...

my experiences and daily life as a parent of deaf children

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Immotileturtle's Blog

Just another infertile rocking in a fertile world

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

desperateinthedesert

A journey from infertility to family and beyond

two solid lines

Life in search of two solid lines...Our journey to parenthood.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Decorex SA

Official blog of Decorex SA, South Africa's favourite home decor, design and lifestyle exhibition

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

Midlands Musings

The love, life and words of a Midlands girl who cannot be put in a nutshell.

basilBLOGinc

This is a writing page to complement my photograph page on www.basilARTinc.com

The crooked path through IVF

Will I be missing motherhood entirely? It’s the only question that seems to weigh on my mind these days.

clothpot

instant urban greening

tiredoftryingtoconcieve

22 and TTC - London Living <3

mission: mini vogt

Our journey to create {and keep} a healthy baby.

Me Becoming Mom

Tales of a gal on her journey through infertility

