A journey into Parenthood & dealing with loss

Eye tests

I went for my retina check today. I was surprisingly nervous. Both my pupils were dilated which was a very strange experience. I’ve been told that I don’t qualify for laser eye surgery as my eye sight is too weak. Apparently the cut off is -6 contact lens strength, and I’m already at -10 and -10,5!

I was also told, quite matter of fact-ly, which I found quite disconcerting, that I will develop cataracts at an early age. That happens to people with my poor site, but then when they do the surgery to fix them, they can then fix my eye sight at the same time. Told as if the last part was a benefit.

There was nothing showing on my retina tests so I am now being sent for a visual field test next week to figure out if the weird dark patch I keep seeing is my mind playing tricks on me, or something wrong with my brain!

Have I mentioned that I don’t particularly like doctors and testing? Especially when it comes to my sight. My biggest fear in the whole world is going blind and all these tests are freaking me out just a little bit.

In other news I went for my teeth cleaning today and I was told that my mouth wasn’t as bad as the dentist had suggested. I have to floss daily and change my toothbrush head and toothpaste to the sensitive ones and I should have better gums in no time. So here’s to no more inflammation caused by iffy gums affecting my pregnancies.

Tomorrow I have one of my fillings repaired and on Monday the other one. And tomorrow is session two with the therapist.

Comments on: "Eye tests" (7)

  1. Hehehe, getting your eyes dilated is TRIPPY! I’ve had it done once, and I swear I looked in the mirror and freaked myself out. I kept thinking I’d start growing fangs or something – I looked like an extra from a vampire movie. LMAO!

    • Lol. My husband said I looked like those cards with the kittens with the extra large eyes.

      • HAHAHA omg that’s a good one! I seriously freaked out a bit – especially because they didn’t tell me that I wouldn’t be able to read anything properly, so at first I almost screamed YOU BLINDED ME! lol

      • They warned me I couldn’t drive so I was expecting to have issues. It was a good excuse though to have. Nap on a week day afternoon.

  2. […] had my follow up Visual Field test to the other eye tests I had this morning. There is nothing wrong with my brain – when it comes to my vision. My […]

  3. I’m glad you’re okay – I love the ophthalmologist, but I guess that’s just me being weird. Dilated pupils suck though. I’ve never met anyone with a stronger myopia than me – now I have! Yeah, looking “forward” to early onset cataracts too… sigh…

Leave a Reply

WAHM WorkSpace Blog

Where Moms Meet, Mingle and Market!

SA Cloth Directory

Cloth Addicts Unite!

Slowly treading water

My slighlty chaotic, anything-but-ordinary journey trying to be a wife, medical professional and still be me

Fragile Haven

A Fragile X carrier shares the ups and downs of TTC

Mothering three deaf daughters - my journey...

my experiences and daily life as a parent of deaf children

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Immotileturtle's Blog

Just another infertile rocking in a fertile world

lamenting the lentil

unexplained infertility, twin pregnancy, and me

desperateinthedesert

A journey from infertility to family and beyond

two solid lines

Life in search of two solid lines...Our journey to parenthood.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Decorex SA

Official blog of Decorex SA, South Africa's favourite home decor, design and lifestyle exhibition

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

Midlands Musings

The love, life and words of a Midlands girl who cannot be put in a nutshell.

basilBLOGinc

This is a writing page to complement my photograph page on www.basilARTinc.com

The crooked path through IVF

Will I be missing motherhood entirely? It’s the only question that seems to weigh on my mind these days.

clothpot

instant urban greening

tiredoftryingtoconcieve

22 and TTC - London Living <3

mission: mini vogt

Our journey to create {and keep} a healthy baby.

